The Little Sweetie Dress

Scarlett Christmas dress 2014 back 1This is my latest Crochetion. I made this for my 3 year old daughter for Christmas. I used approximately 3 and one half skeins of yarn. 1 1/2 skein of Red Heart White and 2 skeins of Red Heart Cherry Red. I used a 5mm/Size H crochet hook. The tutorial I followed was also from Red Heart. It’s called The Sweetie Dress. I deviated from the pattern somewhat since the tutorial was for a six month size and I wanted a 3T size. I also belted it at the waist as it seemed to hang too far out for my taste. The belt I made is very simple: Chain 150 and weave in around the waist area. In this case I actually used two strands of yarn. One strand of the Red Heart Cherry Red and one strand of Premier Yarns in City Life. I wanted it to have some sparkle somewhere so I figured it may as well be on the belt. The reason I made the chain so long is not only because I wanted it to go all the way around the dress and be weaved into the dress, but also because I wanted to make a bow at the back. Looking at it now, I’m wondering if I shouldn’t have made the chain at about 200 instead of 150 just to make a bigger bow.

Scarlett Christmas dress 2014 front 1

I closed the back with ladybug shaped buttons. They are not traditionally Christmas-y, but it was all I could find at the moment that matched the dress colors. I also added red ribbons to the middle of the yoke, on the top of the arms and at the bottom of the skirt: one on each side tied into the trim. Another way I deviated from the pattern was that when making the large triangle spaces for the skirt, I did not chain 2 when I finished one before beginning the next. This made my triangles somewhat smaller than on the tutorial. I did this because I didn’t want the skirt part of the dress to be see-through. With the larger triangles, I felt that I might have to sew a lining in the dress for modesty’s sake and I didn’t have the time or the inclination to hand sew the lining at this time. However, now that I’ve seen my daughter in the dress, I’m thinking about adding some crinolines underneath it to give it some more poofy-ness. I had a red and white dress that I absolutely adored when I was a little girl that had those on it and everyone of the crinolines had a bell on it so that I jingled whenever I walked. I’m thinking about doing that for this dress. I think it would make a nice touch for a Christmas dress.

If you would like to purchase a custom made version of this dress for your little princess, please see my Etsy site: Mystic Myrelle

I think the dress turned out super precious and I will probably reuse this pattern again for other dresses for my daughter. I will probably tinker with it a little as well just to make it custom fit for her as well. I hope you all like it. I will post the video of the tutorial below.

Leave a Reply

